LOCAL SCHOOL
ADVISORY TEAM
(LSAT)

THE LATEST

The last LSAT meeting of the 2021-22 school year was held June 7.

LSAT Meeting Recording - June 2022

WHAT IS LSAT?

The Local School Advisory Team (LSAT) is a group of elected parents, teachers, and staff, plus an appointed community member, which is charged with advising the principal on matters that promote high expectations and high achievement for all students. DCPS requires that every school have an LSAT and charges it with the following responsibilities:

  • advising the principal on priorities and goals

  • working with the principal on developing the local Comprehensive School Plan (school goals)

  • reviewing data in order to be informed about school needs and trends

  • monitoring and assessing the implementation of the local Comprehensive School Plan

  • using assessment results to develop specific strategies for research-based school improvements

  • alignment of strategic and specific goals and objectives of DCPS


In carrying out these responsibilities, the LSAT is required to discuss and advise the principal on matters including:

  • allocation of school resources

  • organization of the school

  • curriculum

  • budget decisions

  • school culture and family engagement

THE CLUSTER LSAT

​The Cluster’s LSAT is composed of two parent representatives from each of its three campuses. Parents are elected for two year terms. Each campus is also represented by two teachers, each elected for a one year term. The Cluster’s LSAT also includes one PTA representative, one Washington Teachers Union representative, one non-instructional staff member, and one community member. The Cluster LSAT typically meets once per month. Complete details about the LSAT’s role can be found in the LSAT Guidelines SY19-20.

LSAT MEMBERS 
SCHOOL YEAR 2021-22

PEABODY

Sara Cissna (Parent): sdcissna@gmail.com

Donna MacAlester (Parent): donna.macalester@gmail.com

Shannon Russell (Parent): shanrussl@gmail.com

Ebon McPherson (Instructional Coach): Ebon.McPherson@dc.gov

Annie Slattery (Teacher): annie.slattery@k12.dc.gov

WATKINS

Ramona Burton (Parent Co-Chair): ramona51dst@gmail.com

Kathy Zeisel (Parent): zeiselk@gmail.com

Kimberlynn Jurkowski (Media Specialist): kimberlynn.jurkowski@dc.gov

Henri Rowe (Teacher Co-Chair): henri.rowe@k12.dc.gov

Monique Sullivan (Teacher): monique.sullivan@k12.dc.gov

STUART-HOBSON

Kersylnn Featherstone (Parent): kerslynn@yahoo.com

Gerty Johnson (Parent): gerty.johnson1418@gmail.com

Nancy Abou-Samra (Teacher): nancy.abou-samra@k12.dc.gov

Vernastene Black (Teacher): vernastene.black@k12.dc.gov

Tiffany Kaijage (Teacher): tiffany.kaijage@k12.dc.gov

D’Ambra Taylor (Teacher): dambra.taylor@k12.dc.gov

OTHER

Layth Elmusa (Watkins Union Representative): layth.elmusa@k12.dc.gov

Sara Friedman (Peabody Union Representative): sara.friedman@k12.dc.gov

Denise Forte (PTA Representative): dm_forte@msn.com

Peter Honarvar (Community Member): phonarvar@cityyear.org

Bethany Rosera (Stuart-Hobson Union Representative): bethany.rosera@k12.dc.gov

MEETING SCHEDULE & MINUTES

2022

 

June - Minutes & Video

May - Minutes & Video

April - Minutes & Video

March - Minutes & Video Pt. 1 and Video Pt. 2

February - Minutes & Video

January - Minutes & Video

2021

December - Minutes & Video

November - Minutes & Video

October - Minutes & Video

September - Minutes & Video

August - 

July 6 - No Meeting

June 8 - Minutes & Video

May 4 - Minutes & Video

April 6 - Minutes & Video

March 2 - Minutes

February 2 - Minutes & Video

January 5 - Minutes

2020

December 1 - Minutes

November 10 - Minutes

October 6 - Virtual Minutes

September 1 - Minutes

August 4 - Minutes

July 7 – Orientation for new members

June 2 - Minutes

May 5  - Cancelled

April 7 - Cancelled

March 3 - Minutes

February 4 - Minutes

January 7 - Cancelled

2019

December 3 (Minutes)

November 12 (Minutes)

October 8 (Minutes)

September 3 (Minutes)

August 13 (Minutes)

July 2019 – No Meeting

June 11 (Minutes)

May 7 (Minutes)

April 2 (Minutes)

March 2019 – No Meeting

February 11 (Minutes)

January 8 (Minutes)

2018

December 4 – Minutes

November 14 – Minutes

October 2 – Minutes

September  – Minutes

August  – No Meeting

July 18 – Minutes

June 5 – Minutes

May 7 – Minutes

April 3 – Minutes

March 12– Minutes

February 13 – Minutes

January 9 – Minutes

2017

December 5 – Minutes

November 1 – Minutes

October 3– Minutes

September 5 – Minutes

August 1– Minutes

May 3 – Minutes

April 40 - Minutes

January 10 - Minutes

2016

December - Minutes

November - Minutes

October - Minutes

September - Minutes

August - Minutes

RESOURCE

Contact

To request information, obtain copies of reading materials, or suggest additional resources, please contact Tom Guglielmo at tguglielmogw@gmail.com

To get involved or join the CHCS Equity Google Group, please contact Lisa Brooks at lisaebrooks@gmail.com.