LOCAL SCHOOL
ADVISORY TEAM
(LSAT)

THE LATEST

Our last LSAT was held Tuesday, June 1, at 6:00 pm.

Meeting Minutes

Stuart-Hobson breakout session

LSAT Meeting & Peabody/Watkins breakout session

WHAT IS LSAT?

The Local School Advisory Team (LSAT) is a group of elected parents, teachers, and staff, plus an appointed community member, which is charged with advising the principal on matters that promote high expectations and high achievement for all students. DCPS requires that every school have an LSAT and charges it with the following responsibilities:

  • advising the principal on priorities and goals

  • working with the principal on developing the local Comprehensive School Plan (school goals)

  • reviewing data in order to be informed about school needs and trends

  • monitoring and assessing the implementation of the local Comprehensive School Plan

  • using assessment results to develop specific strategies for research-based school improvements

  • alignment of strategic and specific goals and objectives of DCPS


In carrying out these responsibilities, the LSAT is required to discuss and advise the principal on matters including:

  • allocation of school resources

  • organization of the school

  • curriculum

  • budget decisions

  • school culture and family engagement

THE CLUSTER LSAT

​The Cluster’s LSAT is composed of two parent representatives from each of its three campuses. Parents are elected for two year terms. Each campus is also represented by two teachers, each elected for a one year term. The Cluster’s LSAT also includes one PTA representative, one Washington Teachers Union representative, one non-instructional staff member, and one community member. The Cluster LSAT typically meets once per month. Complete details about the LSAT’s role can be found in the LSAT Guidelines SY19-20.

LSAT MEMBERS 
SCHOOL YEAR 2020-21

PEABODY

Katherine Antos (Secretary): katherine.antos@gmail.com

Shannon Russell (Parent): shanrussl@gmail.com

Ebon McPherson (Teacher): Ebon.McPherson@dc.gov

Annie Slattery (Teacher): annie.slattery@k12.dc.gov

Joi Hollis (Asst. Principal): joi.hollis@k12.dc.gov

WATKINS

Ramona Burton (Parent Co-Chair): Lsat@chcspta.org

Pamela Dickerson (Parent): pamelaforddickerson@gmail.com

Kimberly Griffin (Teacher): kimberly.griffin@k12.dc.gov

Kimberlynn Jurkowski (Teacher): Kimberlynn.Jurkowski@k12.dc.gov

Henri Rowe (Teacher): henri.rowe@k12.dc.gov

Monique Sullivan (Teacher): Monique.Sullivan@k12.dc.gov

MScott Berkowitz (Principal): mark.boisvert@k12.dc.gov

Mark Boisvert (Asst. Principal): mark.boisvert@k12.dc.gov

STUART-HOBSON

Steve Sweeney (Parent): dcsween@gmail.com

Gerty Johnson (Parent): gerty.johnson1418@gmail.com

Vernastene Black (Teacher): vernastene.black@k12.dc.gov

Katherine Fiske (Teacher): katherine.Fiske@k12.dc.gov

Karen Gordon (Teacher): Karen.Gordon3@k12.dc.gov

Bethany Rosera (Teacher): Bethany.Rosera@k12.dc.gov.  

Eric Fraser (Principal): eric.fraser@k12.dc.gov

OTHER

Brittney Prophete (Community Rep): brittney.prophete@k12.dc.gov

Jenn Loeb (PTA Representative): jennbakerloeb@gmail.com

Rachel Houghton (Peabody Union Representative): Rachel.Houghton@dc.gov

Beth Dewhurst (Stuart-Hobson Union Representative): elizabethdewhurst@k12.dc.gov

Tatiana Sheppard (Watkins Union Representative): Tatiana.Sheppard@dc.gov

MEETING SCHEDULE & MINUTES

2021

January 5 - Minutes

February 2 - Minutes & Video

March 2 - Minutes

April 6 - Minutes & Video

May 4 - Minutes & Video

June 8 - Agenda

July 6 - No Meeting

2020

December 1 - (Minutes)

November 10 - (Minutes)

October 6 - Virtual (Minutes)

September 1 - (Minutes)

August 4 (Minutes)

July 7 – Orientation for new members

June 2 (Minutes)

May 5 (Cancelled)

April 7 (Cancelled)

March 3 (Minutes)

February 4 (Minutes)

January 7 (Cancelled)


2019

December 3 (Minutes)

November 12 (Minutes)

October 8 (Minutes)

September 3 (Minutes)

August 13 (Minutes)

July 2019 – No Meeting

June 11 (Minutes)

May 7 (Minutes)

April 2 (Minutes)

March 2019 – No Meeting

February 11 (Minutes)

January 8 (Minutes)

RESOURCE

Contact

To request information, obtain copies of reading materials, or suggest additional resources, please contact Tom Guglielmo at tguglielmogw@gmail.com

To get involved or join the CHCS Equity Google Group, please contact Lisa Brooks at lisaebrooks@gmail.com.