LOCAL SCHOOL ADVISORY TEAM (LSAT)

WHAT IS LSAT?

The Local School Advisory Team (LSAT) is a group of elected parents, teachers, and staff, plus an appointed community member, which is charged with advising the principal on matters that promote high expectations and high achievement for all students. DCPS requires that every school have an LSAT and charges it with the following responsibilities:

  • advising the principal on priorities and goals

  • working with the principal on developing the local Comprehensive School Plan (school goals)

  • reviewing data in order to be informed about school needs and trends

  • monitoring and assessing the implementation of the local Comprehensive School Plan

  • using assessment results to develop specific strategies for research-based school improvements

  • alignment of strategic and specific goals and objectives of DCPS


In carrying out these responsibilities, the LSAT is required to discuss and advise the principal on matters including:

  • allocation of school resources

  • organization of the school

  • curriculum

  • budget decisions

  • school culture and family engagement

THE CLUSTER LSAT

​The Cluster’s LSAT is composed of two parent representatives from each of its three campuses. Parents are elected for two year terms. Each campus is also represented by two teachers, each elected for a one year term. The Cluster’s LSAT also includes one PTA representative, one Washington Teachers Union representative, one non-instructional staff member, and one community member. The Cluster LSAT typically meets once per month. Complete details about the LSAT’s role can be found in the LSAT Guidelines SY19-20.

 

LSAT MEMBERS 
SCHOOL YEAR 2020-21

PEABODY

Katherine Antos (Secretary): katherine.antos@gmail.com

Shannon Russell (Parent): shanrussl@gmail.com

Kimberly Griffin (Teacher): kimberly.griffin@k12.dc.gov

Ebon McPherson (Teacher): Ebon.McPherson@dc.gov

Annie Slattery (Teacher): annie.slattery@k12.dc.gov

Joi Hollis (Asst. Principal): joi.hollis@k12.dc.gov

WATKINS

Ramona Burton (Parent Co-Chair): Lsat@chcspta.org

Pamela Dickerson (Parent): pamelaforddickerson@gmail.com

Sharonda Irving (Teacher): sharonda.davila-irving@dc.gov

Tatiana Sheppard (Teacher): tatiana.sheppard@k12.dc.gov

MScott Berkowitz (Principal): mark.boisvert@k12.dc.gov

Mark Boisvert (Asst. Principal)

STUART-HOBSON

Steve Sweeney (Parent): dcsween@gmail.com

(Parent): vacant

Alva Abdussalaam (Teacher): alva.abdussalaam@k12.dc.gov

Vernastene Black (Teacher): vernastene.black@k12.dc.gov

Katherine Fiske (Teacher): katherine.Fiske@k12.dc.gov

Eric Fraser (Principal): eric.fraser@k12.dc.gov

OTHER

Rachel Houghton (Peabody Union Representative): Rachel.Houghton@dc.gov

Jenn Loeb (PTA Representative): jennbakerloeb@gmail.com

Tamara Lovelock (Stuart-Hobson Union Representative): tamara.lovelock@k12.dc.gov

Tatiana Sheppard (Watkins Union Representative): Tatiana.Sheppard@dc.gov

 

MEETING SCHEDULE & MINUTES

2021

January 5 - Location TBD

February 2 - Location TBD

March 2 - Location TBD

April 6 - Location TBD

May 4 - Location TBD

June 8 - Location TBD

July 6 - Location TBD

2020

January 7 (Cancelled)

February 4 (Minutes)

March 3 (Minutes)

April 7 (Cancelled)

May 5 (Cancelled)

June 2 (Minutes)

July 7 – Orientation for new members

August 4 (Minutes)

September 1 - (Minutes)

October 6 - Virtual

November (Date TBD) - Location TBD

December 1 - Location TBD

2019

December 3 (Minutes)

November 12 (Minutes)

October 8 (Minutes)

September 3 (Minutes)

August 13 (Minutes)

July 2019 – No Meeting

June 11 (Minutes)

May 7 (Minutes)

April 2 (Minutes)

March 2019 – No Meeting

February 11 (Minutes)

January 8 (Minutes)

2018

2017

2016

RESOURCE

 

Contact

To request information, obtain copies of reading materials, or suggest additional resources, please contact Tom Guglielmo at tguglielmogw@gmail.com

To get involved or join the CHCS Equity Google Group, please contact Lisa Brooks at lisaebrooks@gmail.com.

 
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

©2019 by Capitol Hill Cluster School. Proudly created with Wix.com